Felicidades a Betzy Vazquez "La Gatita" y Felix Lopez, son finalistas de Medallas de Cortez


Medallas de Cortez Winners to Be Revealed in Miami at the Radio Ink Hispanic Radio Conference

Radio Ink today named the the finalists for the Medallas de Cortez awards for excellence in Hispanic radio. Nominees include industry leaders in station management, sales, programming, and advertising. These finalists will be judged and winners will be presented with the prestigious Medallas de Cortez medal at a ceremony during the Radio Ink Hispanic Radio Conference, set for May 16-17 at the Biltmore Hotel in Miami. Nominees have been selected in 12 categories, covering both large- and small-market Hispanic radio. The awards are sponsored by McGavren Guild Media.

The Medallas de Cortez awards were created by Radio Ink magazine to recognize outstanding achievements and leadership in the Hispanic radio marketplace. They were named after Raoul Cortez, a pioneer in Hispanic radio in America; his image appears on the medal presented to winners in each category.

“Hispanic radio is an important part of the overall radio industry and is often overshadowed by mainstream radio,” said Deborah Parenti, Executive Vice President/Radio for Radio Ink parent Streamline Publishing. “These awards are designed to give recognition to those who have contributed to elevate the overall reputation, professionalism, and image of Hispanic radio.”

Radio Ink solicited nominations from the radio industry, then determined finalists based on specific criteria for each category.

“I’ve grown especially fond of the Hispanic radio community,” Streamline Chairman Eric Rhoads said. “This is a group of people who are passionate about their formats, their community, and working together to elevate the success of their sector of our industry. Those participating in our conference will be a part of this community effort to grow Hispanic radio and create even more interest among national and local advertisers. We’re proud to be the catalyst to bring them together, give them this forum, and watch as more advertisers embrace Hispanic radio.”

The Finalists Are:

General Manager of the Year, Markets 1-25
Eric Garcia, SBS/New York
Jaime Jimenez, Univision/Los Angeles
James Kalmenson, KWKW (ESPN Deportes)/Los Angeles
Ed Krampf, Adelante/Sacramento
Felix Lopez, SBS/Miami

Personality of the Year, Markets 1-25
Pedro Biaggi, WLZL/Washington
Raul Brindis, KLTN/Houston
Milton Andrade Cardenas, KLNV/San Diego
Luis Jimenez, WXNY-FM/New York
Betzy La Gatita, WXDJ/Miami
Jorge Ramos, ESPN Deportes
Enrique Santos, WRTO-FM/Miami
Ricardo Sanchez, KLAX-FM/Los Angeles
Fabian Saldivar, KRRN-FM/Las Vegas
Luis Torres, WLZL/Washington